Select Page

By: Chris Taylor (Kalapaki Joe’s Staff Writer)

 

 

 

The UFC octagon will invade the Philippines for the first-time in history this Saturday for UFC Fight Night 66.

The historic event is headlined by a key featherweight fight featuring former UFC lightweight champion Frankie “The Answer” Edgar (18-4-1 MMA) taking on former WEC Champ Urijah “The California Kid” Faber (32-7 MMA).

Frankie Edgar is currently riding a three-fight win streak, which includes stoppage victories over B.J. Penn and Cub Swanson. A fourth consecutive victory would likely secure “The Answer” another shot at UFC featherweight gold.

Meanwhile, former WEC featherweight champion Urijah Faber will return to the 145-pound division for the first time in over five years when he faces Edgar this weekend. “The California Kid” has won two-straight fights, his latest being a submission victory over Francisco Rivera at December’s UFC 181 event.

In the evening’s co-main event slot, former Strikeforce title holder Gegard Mousasi (36-5-2 MMA) will battle Costas Philippou (13-4 MMA).

Gegard “The Dreamcatcher” Mousasi is coming off a first-round TKO victory over Dan Henderson, which he earned at January’s UFC on FOX 14 event in Sweden. Prior to the win, Mousasi suffered a third-round submission loss to “Jacare” Souza this past September.

Meanwhile, Costas Philippou was last seen in action in May of 2014, where he scored a first-round KO victory over Lorenz Larkin. The victory snapped a two-fight losing skid for Costas, who had previously suffered losses to Luke Rockhold and Francis Carmont respectively.

Here is Saturday’s full UFC Fight Night 66 lineup:

Main Card: (Fox Sports 1 – 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT)
Frankie Edgar (18-4-1) vs. Urijah Faber (32-7)
Gegard Mousasi (36-5-2) vs. Costa Philippou (13-4, 1NC)
Mark Munoz (13-6) vs. Luke Barnatt (8-2)
Neil Magny (14-3) vs. Hyun Gyu Lim (13-4-1)
Phillipe Nover (6-3-1) vs. Yui Chui Nam (18-4-1)
Mark Eddiva (6-1) vs. Levan Makashvili (9-1)

Preliminary Card: (Fox Sports 1 – 8 a.m. ET/5 a.m. PT)
Tae Hyun Bang (17-8) vs. Jon Tuck (8-2)
Zhang Lipeng (9-8-1) vs. Kajan Johnson (19-12-1)
Li Jingliang (9-3) vs. Dhiego Lima (11-3)
Ning Guangyou (5-2-1) vs. Royston Wee (4-0)

Preliminary Card: (Fight Pass – 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT)
Roldan Sangch-an (4-1) vs. Jon Delos Reyes (7-4)
Nolan Ticman (4-2) vs. Yao Zhikui (1-3)

Stay tuned to KalapakiJoes.com for all your major UFC News!

Share This